The University “St. Kliment Ohridski” – Bitola is the second state university located mainly in Bitola, with faculties in Prilep, Ohrid, Veles, Kichevo and Skopje. It was founded on 25 April 1979, but the name “St. Kliment Ohridski” was not given until late 1994. The number of enrolled students exceeds 15,000.The act of the formal establishment of the university “St Kliment Ohridski” – Bitola was on the 25th April 1979. On 8 December 1994 when the University of Bitola started to celebrate the day of St Kliment in honor of his patron.The founding assembly was held on 25 April 1979 in Bitola. A Self-Managing Agreement for joining into the University of Bitola was signed by six higher education institutions and two research institutes, namely: Faculty of Economics – Prilep Faculty of Law – Bitola Faculty of Technical Sciences – Bitola Faculty of Tourism and Catering – Ohrid Higher School of Agriculture – Bitola Academy of Pedagogy- Bitola Tobacco Institute – Prilep Institute of Hydro-biology- Ohrid.

The following institutions have joined the university:
– Institute for Old Slav Culture – Prilep (1985);
– National and University Library “St.Kliment Ohridski” – Biota (1980);
– Student Center “Koch Racin” – Bitola (1981);
– Higher Medical School – Bitola (1988);
– Police Academy – Skopje (2004).

The international character of UKLO is confirmed by the participation in international programs and associations among which the most significant is the membership in EUA and BUA. St. Kliment Ohridski University is also a holder of the Erasmus+ Charter.

The Faculty of Technology and Technical Sciences in Veles has started to function at the beginning of the academic 2008/2009. The faculty seat is in Veles.